He turned open
the gate. Of course I stood
behind it. He walked
through. I held up
a candle to his face
and the hair around
his ears. He took a bulb
from the lamp and showed
it could be eaten. I buckled
our seat belts. He drove
the station wagon. I played
string from the cliffs. He
flew a fishing line. I saw
a bird in the popcorn
ceiling. He whistled wildly. I
picked a stone up. He picked
up a stone. We banged
the stones together,
even our cars caught fire.
I grabbed a bag of soccer
balls and he took out
the keys. I held the smoke
in my hair. He said
something through
the heat. I’m standing
above the ground. He’s wearing
a baseball cap.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

